10 Ways To Stay Motivated And Not To Quit In A First Week


Don’t let you stop you.
If you’ve got the drive to get better, Nike Women has the tools and gear to help you do it: http://gonike.me/bfiityt

Hello Fit Bombshells,

I have started my fitness journey last week, and joined millions girls all over the world who does BBG workouts. Honestly, it was a very tough week for my sore body. Not only it was difficult to walk and move, but also to laugh or sneeze. Not working out for couple weeks/months your body gets used to that relaxed mode.

Starting a physical training and doing exercises as simple as jogging for a couple minutes or doing sit ups, you will definitely experience soreness the next day which will cause some ‘crazy’ thoughts to run through your mind like “I should quit,”  ” It is to hard to do,” ” This is not for me,” “I am to weak for this.” Well these kind of words should be your motivation to keep going.

During the first week of working out, I have experienced all kinds of emotions: excitement to start something new; enjoyment of being active; happiness; love; hate of waking up earlier in the mornings; anger for not working out for while; hunger for food; etc. My body is still sore even though it has been over a week since my first workout.

Waking up at 5:00 am, earlier than usual in the morning, is a challenge everyday. I am not a morning person, but I choose to exercise at the dawn because it is a great way to start your day, to get your happy hormones going. Morning is your time before you go on and get busy with your day. It was a very tough week, but I did not quit.

progress, don't stop, push yourself
It takes time, keep going! Source @ Pinterest

Want to know why and how I did not give up? I will explain in 10 ways on how to stay motivated during the first week of exercising.

  1. Set A Goal

This is one of the most important motivations. Having a clear and realistic doable goal will help you to achieve results. Set yourself a main goal that is specific, measurable and relevant. Also set couple small goals on the way to achieve the main one. For example, what are your expectations for this week from yourself?

  1. Tell everyone that you have started going to the gym

Inform your family, friends, coworkers, classmates that you have joined gym and started exercising. Once people around you know, it will be harder to slack and not go to the gym or follow the program. Show that you are serious and commit to it. They will be more than happy to support you in what you are doing.

  1. Find a partner in crime

Another motivation that will help you stay on track would be a workout partner. Once again, it will harder for you to skip a training or hit that snoozed button extra time if you know that another person will be waiting for you at the gym. So make a fitness date with your friend, a sibling, a co-worker or a classmate and give a good sweat session. Right, Melissa ? 😉

  1. Plan and prepare your workout ahead

Fail to prepare – prepare to fail. It is very important to be prepared, so you do not have to rush getting ready. Couple times I have came to the gym with out socks or forgot my shoes. The night before I prepare my gym bag with all the essential stuff that I need for that day and always have an extra pair of socks. 😛

  1. Make a vision board

To support your goals, I would suggest to make a vision board with all the pictures that motivate you to pursue your goal. Also you could change a background picture on your phone to some motivational quote or a picture. The screen saver on my phone has a quote that says, “Why to start tomorrow all over again, if it is possible not to screw it up today.” So whenever I want to have that extra piece of chocolate or that decision full of carbs mushroom and cheese bun from Stella’s I just read over and over again until the want to be fit wins over the desire to eat.

  1. Get a new and exciting workout gear/ Find in your closet or buy a new piece of clothing in a smaller size

This one is my favorite motivation.  I always try to buy new pair of cute gym shoes when I start a new challenge. New pair of runners – new beginning.  Also I always buy some piece of clothing that I really like, usually it is a dress, but a size smaller to give me more motivation to work on myself to fit in that dress as soon as possible. It is up to you, if you want buy something or maybe you already have some piece of clothing in your closet, that is still waiting to be worn. Just take a closer look in your wardrobe and I am sure you will find something that you would like to wear again.

  1. Find a mentor/ role model

It is important to have a supporting stuff that cheers for you and guide you in your journey. I am lucky enough to have that guidance and support coming from my two best friends: Maria and Veronika. Both of them inspire and motivate me a lot. Maria is a sport enthusiast. She has been introduced to sports when she was little and since then she made it to be her life style. Maria is very well rounded person. She does everything such as fitness, tennis, snowboarding, skiing, pole dance etc. Veronika is a new mom in town and she is incredibly amazing. She just had a baby not a long time ago. This super mom did not need a lot of time to get back in shape after her son was born. She has introduced me to the paleo lifestyle. Both of them are the walking motivation. They manage their busy life but still make sure to take care of themselves too. Love you, Maria and Veronika, to pieces! ❤

  1. Start a Fitness Dairy

Get yourself a notebook and take notes each day about your workouts, your moods, your body weight, your feeling etc. Write down everything! At the end of the week you could go over it to see what have you achieved. Believe, it will motivate you a lot to see your success written down. Also you will figure out what works for you best and what not, what type of exercise you like the most, when you should hit the gym etc. So keep a track record of your results.

  1. Reward yourself

After a hard work you should reward yourself. What type of rewards it can be? It all depends on you what you want. You could reward yourself by having a cheat meal, getting a spa treatment at your local spa center, go on a trip or get a new workout gear. It all depends on you. As for myself, I will get a new gym bag I have been dreaming about from Lululemon as the reward, if I will complete four weeks of BBG workout and see some result. After another four weeks I will have another reward again and so on. You have to keep yourself interested somehow like that.

  1. Take it easy

Do not rush to achieve your goal right away in a first week. It is not just couple weeks’ journey, it will become your lifestyle. There is no easy way or fix. Whenever something comes really easy also leaves easy too. Anything that is harder to achieve and takes time to get where you want to be, it will be harder to let go and gave up.

motivation, everyday work, hard, keep going
Work on yourself every day to achieve your goals!      Source @ Pinterest 

Since you know my 10 ways how to stay motivated and not to quit, what are yours? Share what are your tips on motivation by leaving a comment below. Also remember that Roman Empire was not build in a day, but the bricks still were laid. So keep working on yourself! You can do anything, because you are amazing!

Love, Ulyana 

XOXO

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. thestudentsnippet November 22, 2015 — 9:14 pm

    loved it! Thanks for the shout out 😛 Keep up the good work!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment